Féile Na nGael 2021

With the eyes of the county turning towards Portaferry over the weekend, it was a most welcome semblance of return to normality for the Hurling clubs across the county.

It meant an 8am start for the U15 Hurlers of Cumann Pheadaír Naofa to ensure they were there for the opening address from County CCC Chairperson Maureen O’Higgins. Under abysmal wet conditions the blues opened proceeding on the day against a skilled and the eventual divisional winners Kilclief.

With a strong wind blowing down the field in favour of the Strangford side, the blues found the going tough to erase the goals conceded in the first half.

A much better and improved side made short work of a Bredagh B side with a free scoring display of point taking, Sean Crawford leading from the front with three well placed frees. Captain Mikey Keohane, Oisín Gambold & the pocket rocket Ciaran McMahon opening the blues account under heavy pressure.

Needing a win in their last game to progress to the final, Clonduff proved to be a surprise package and once more a cruel wind blowing down the field in favour of the Yella’s in the first half played a crucial factor in ensuring the Yella’s lay siege to Oliver Murdock’s goal, scoring four goals. But most notably were the performances of Ryan Tweedy, Lorcan Binks & Tommy Smyth, all who have played for and benefited from training with the blues over the last few years, an experience that played to their advantage. Clonduff were the better team and deserved their victory, particularly more the sweeter as they’d been convincingly beaten at the start of the league campaign in Milltown.

We’d like to thank the performances & commitment of the lads under terrible weather conditions, all gave their best for the jersey.

We look forward to a Championship semi-final in a few weeks’ time with Kilclief after Clonduff withdrew from their fixture on Monday evening in Milltown.

Team: O Murdock, E Campbell, J Clarke, O McGivern, T Trainor, E McFerran, M Keohane, S O’Hare, O Gambold, A Vorobjov, J Lock, S Crawford, C McMahon